Poképocalypse Now: Why The New Pokémon Go Update Seems To Delete Your Progress (And How You Can Fix It)

It’s the Poképocalypse. Well, almost.
Users of Pokémon Go discovered over the weekend, after attempting an update to Version 1.1.0, that their gameplay progress had been reset.
Yes, you read that right. After waging war against high level Pokémon and dominating countless gymnasiums, they were returned to the start of the game, left toiling with measly Zubats and Rattatas.
Game developers Niantic hear your pain. In a statement, they have assured players that “your gameplay progress has NOT been lost. It remains safe and intact.”
What actually happened is this: When users updated to the new version of Pokemon Go, they saw an updated Google account login (one of the new changes Niantic rolled out) and accidentally created a new Google account.
“To resolve this issue, please sign in with the email address originally used to create your Pokémon GO account,” they have since instructed panicking players.
If that doesn’t do it, there are a series of steps you can follow to really, truly sign-out of your new, accidental dummy account, and return to your previous state of domination. Follow them here.
You may now return to dedicating your life to near-constant Pokémon Go-ing. Just remember to please Poké safely.
Photo: iStock.
Topics
Ref: 6ed96470-97a1-426b-9af0-a655003404b6
Most Popular
Comments & Feedback
Share your opinion







No Comments just yet
Check back later to see what others are saying , or you can be the first to leave a comment!